Tip 26: hypoxic-ischaemic encephalopathy (HIE) stages

The Sarnat stages of encephalopathy are:

1 (mild) – hyperalert, normal tone, weak suck, normal CFM.

2 (moderate) – lethargic, hypotonic, brisk tendon reflexes, weak or absent suck, clinical or CFM seizures.

3 (severe) – comatose, flaccid, absent tendon & primitive reflexes.

This entry was posted in Neurology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.